Sonkajärvi Wife-Carrying

Join me in congratulating the team of Taisto Miettinen and Kristiina Haapanen, winners of the 2009 Wine-Carrying Championships in Finland. The victory brings Mr. Miettinen and Ms. Haapanen both glory and the latter’s weight in an undisclosed brand of beer. Thus ends a drought of eleven years without a Finn winning the notable event.

In the team competition, the Estonian group of Mauri Zahkna, Alar Voogla, Renno Remmel and Merlin Linnusaar, racing under the name of Sõbrad, were once again victors. No details were available as to what the team won as a prize.

Thanks to the ever attentive Burgundian Babble Belt for alerting me to this important news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *